Which state lies in northern mountains?

Where do northern mountains lie?

This range lies in the north-west of the Himalayas. Mount Godwin Austen (K2) lies in this range. It is the second- highest peak in the world. ➢ Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh lie in the Himalayas and the Karakoram Mountain Range.

How many states are in the northern mountains?

The Himalayan North region comprises the two states and two union territories of India situated at the northernmost Himalayan mountain: Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh and Uttarakhand.

Why are northern mountains important?

The importance of Northern mountains in India are given below : It is the most prominent source for Glacial rivers – enough rainfall and vast snow-fields in these mountains are the source of perennial rivers. … Effective Barriers – The northern mountains have always acted as an efficient barrier for the enemy.

What are northern mountain ranges?

Name the mountain ranges that form the Northern mountains. Ans- The Himalayas,the Karakoram Mountains and the North eastern mountain ranges together form the Northern mountains . 2.Name the first woman to climb Mount Everest.

What is the main occupation of people living in northern mountains and why?

Answer: People living on mountains do agriculture as well as rearing of animals, though on a small scale. This is because they need both the agricultural produce as well as milk and meat from animals for subsistence. Excess of produce is usually traded.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Your question: Is mountaineering rope useful the long dark?

Which state UT lies completely in Himalayas?

Two sovereign states, Nepal and Bhutan, are located almost entirely within the mountain range. The range also covers southern Tibet, the Himalayan region of North and Northeast India, northern Pakistan, and eastern Afghanistan.

What lies in the northern part of India?

The northern region is among the largest regions in India comprising eight states — Jammu & Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Haryana, Delhi, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh and UT Chandigarh.

What are the 3 ranges of Himalayas?

From west to east the Himalayas are divided broadly into three mountainous regions: western, central, and eastern.